The Southern Pain Society was incorporated in 1989 and covers the 18 southern states/regions:  Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, and West Virginia. Our mission is to serve people with pain by advancing research and treatment and to increase the knowledge and skill of the regional professional community.

Board of Directors 2020

Southern Pain Society 18 southern statesAnn Quinlan-Colwell, PhD, APN, President
Mordecai Potash, MD, Past President
Harry Gould, MD, President Elect
Thomas Davis, MD, Secretary
Randolph Roig MD, Treasurer
Joe Tramontana, PhD, Director at-large
James McAbee, PhD, Director at-large
David Gavel, PhD, Director at-large
James Weisberg, PhD, Director at-large
John Satterthwaite, MD Non-voting director
Executive Director:  Lori Postal,  MHA, RN

Contact Us

Hubert L. and Renee S. Rosomoff Award for Excellence in Pain Management

This annual award is given to the professional who demonstrates outstanding contributions to pain research, education and clinical practice.  The award was renamed in 2008 in honor of our founding presidents, Hubert and Renee Rosomoff.

1991 – Hubert Rosomoff, MD
1992 – C. David Tollison, PhD
1993 – Renee Steele-Rosomoff, MBA RN
1994 – Stanley Chapman, PhD
1995 – C. David Tolison, PhD
1996 – J. David Haddox, DDS, MD
1997 – Karen Rucker, MD
1998 – Winston Parris, MD
2000 – Samuel Hassenbusch, MD
2001 – Dan Doleys PhD
2002 – Mary Alice Yoham, MSN, ARNP
2004 – Peter Staats, MD
2005 – Angela Koestler, PhD
2006 – Albert Ray, MD
2007 – Janice Livengood, PhD
2008 – John Satterthwaite, MD
2009 – Benjamin Johnson, MD
2011 – Maged Hamza, MD
2012 – Todd Sitzman, MD, MPH
2013 – Dan Doleys, PhD
2014 – Eduardo Fraifeld, MD
2015 – none
2016 – David A. Hanscom, MD and Robert Childs, MPH
2017 – Francis Keefe, PhD
2018 – Geralyn Datz, PhD and Mordecai Potash, MD
2019 – Ann Quinlan-Colwell, APN, PhD

John R. Satterthwaite, MD Early Career Award

This award is given to the early career professional who demonstrates excellence in leadership, education and research.

2020 – Casey A. Murphy, MD